avocets
Avocets
rss 2.0 subscribe to this page
search


view all
•  projects
•  owners
•  tags
"The guide is a valuable resource for scholars and other researchers interested in African, African American, and African Diaspora history and culture. Over 600 sites are available in the searchable guide which is also browseable by subjects. The topics covered range from the underground railroad to hip hop music. The sites included in the guide were reviewed and annotated by Graduate Research Assistants: Shanita Jones, Raina Leon, Gene Springs, and Eben Lehman."
"Guide to books, articles, videos, magazines, and other material on hip hop, "a form of urban youth culture developed by African Americans and Latinos in New York in the seventies and eighties, originally in the Bronx." Covers music (DJing and MCing), the roots of hip hop music, break-dancing, graffiti, and related subjects. From the New York University Libraries." (via LII)
"provides bibliographic essays, citing English-language books on various aspects of film (history, criticism, film and society, major actors and directors, international influences, reference works and periodicals, etc.). Appendix on research collections. Subject and author indexes. A useful guide for its time, now dated." (Balay, Guide to reference books, 11th ed, 1996)
tagged film guide refbooks by jarson ...on 18-NOV-05
"Describes about 600 English-language reference sources for film and television, listed by type of source (e.g., bibliographic guides, dictionaries and encyclopedias, indexes, biographies, directories, bibliographies). Concluding chapters note core periodicals, research centers and archives, societies, and associations. Full, evaluative annotations. Author/title and subject indexes." (Balay, Guide to reference books, 11th ed, 1996)
tagged film guide refbooks television by jarson ...on 18-NOV-05
"A thorough guide to animation literature and resources through 1979. Offers bibliographic essays on the history, development, and production of animated films; a chronology of animation; descriptions of major research centers; sources of collectibles, films, and videos; and ata on relevant periodicals. Includes a section on personalities in animation, which identifies writings on animators, background artists, and directors. Indexed." (Balay, Guide to reference books, 11th ed, 1996)
tagged animation film guide refbooks by jarson ...on 18-NOV-05
"This guide is intended to assist in doing basic film and video research. Included in the list are print and non-print sources, as well as library resources and services that will help you with your research."
tagged film guide library resources by jarson ...on 08-NOV-05
in storage...what is this?  will it help them?
tagged directory film guide philadelphia by jarson ...on 28-OCT-05