avocets
Avocets
rss 2.0 subscribe to this page
search


view all
•  projects
•  owners
•  tags

Look through the guide and try to really update it in PennPage. So, copy the things that look like they might still be useful, and then update books that have newer editions, and websites that don't work. Just make sure that you make a note of the things that you should check with Nick. Also, are there things about Philadelphia that should be added? Things you know about? Just amke sure someone can tell the difference between what you added and what you copied.

 

tagged guides myna philadelphia by laallen ...on 29-JUL-08
This guide is designed as a starting point for locating statistical information.
tagged guides statistics by laallen ...on 17-JAN-08
This link presents the collection of electoronic resources at the Penn Library related to Philadelphia Studies.
belongs to philadelphia places project
tagged articles databases guides journals philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
This is a useful collection of Research Guides from the Penn Libraries to help find information about Philadelphia.
belongs to Historic Preservation Data project
tagged guides philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
The Iraq Foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental organization working for democracy and human rights in Iraq, and for a better international understanding of Iraq's potential as a contributor to political stability and economic progress in the Middle East.
tagged guides iraq by laallen ...on 18-JAN-07
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on the modern ethnography, history and political situation of Iraq and its people. It describes finding aids, useful reference works, and some web portals for discovering information on Iraq.
Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library (social sciences and humanities, including history and political science, and area studies, including Middle Eastern studies). The anthropology, ethnography, and archaeology collections of the University Museum Library will also contain useful materials.
BE PERSISTENT! Many terms for topics you'll be researching will have been transliterated into romanized forms. You'll soon discover that there's no one "approved" transliteration style. When searching, first try using the form you know. Look for clues -- controlled vocabulary (e.g., subject headings or uniform titles) that may appear only in full record displays, "see also" or "more info" references -- to discover the transliterated form used by the work you're consulting. Use truncated word forms: read the work's documentation to discover how to truncate. Try omitting punctuation-like characters: some computer interfaces may elide ayn, maddah, and other Arabic transliteration marks. Ask for help! Your instructors have great experience at wrestling with transliteration, and so do reference librarians.
tagged anthropology guides iraq by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 18-JAN-07
A guide to the Penn Library resources on Iraq -- mostly to the printed resources. Part of the Prrucs project.
tagged guides iraq by laallen ...on 18-JAN-07
The Metropolitan Philadelphia Indicators Project combines two types of information to illuminate conditions and trends in our 9-county region (defined as the central cities of Philadelphia and Camden along with the Pennsylvania counties of Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery, and the New Jersey counties of Burlington, Camden, Gloucester and Salem). The first is a set of social, environmental and economic indicators that portray the quality of life in the regions communities. The second type of information comes from an annual household survey conducted by Temples Institute for Survey Research, asking respondents across the region how they assess the quality of life in their communities. Tracking over time the changes in the indicators and in the survey responses, we can better understand how citizens perceptions relate to the changing conditions on the ground.
A guide to resources about the city of Philadelphia
tagged guides philadelphia by laallen ...on 02-JAN-07
Bulletin almanac.Philadelphia : The Evening bulletin, 1924-1976.
Call#: Van Pelt Library AY286.P5 B9
The Evening Bulletin was the newspaper of record in Philadelphia through much of the twentieth century. Each year, the Bulletin published an almanac covering Philadelphia for that year. A great source for specific dates in the Philadelphia are between 1924-1976. Also includes the names and address of churches, schools, etc.


Overview of Zip Code Statistic sources from the US Census.
belongs to Current West Philadelphia Data project
tagged census guides statistics zipcodes by laallen ...on 02-JAN-07
A guide to finding resources about the 1960's in the Penn Libraries.
tagged 1960's guides sixties urbs by laallen ...on 19-SEP-06
A guide for Faculty in discovering student plagiarism.
tagged guides plagiarism software by laallen ...on 22-MAR-06

From Moving Ideas.org, this site provides access to organizations and Think Tanks along the liberal/progressive side of issues.

 

University of Michigan guide to Think Tank sources.
A guide to the literature on Think Tanks from the Columbia University Library.
Made with Camptasia.
tagged guides refworks tutorials by laallen ...on 20-JAN-06
The New Mexico Criminal Justice Resource Directory is a comprehensive searchable listing of local, state, tribal and federal criminal and juvenile justice contacts in New Mexico. Listings include agencies, programs and services in law enforcement, courts, corrections, human services, juvenile, research and other topical areas.
tagged criminology grey_literature guides legal by laallen ...on 19-JAN-06
Bibliographic citations for materials received at the Transportation Library, Northwestern University, since 1976.

TranStats is aimed at providing "one-stop shopping" for US transportation data from the National Transportation Library. 

belongs to Philadelphia Transportation Resources project
tagged cttp guides stats transportation by laallen ...on 10-JAN-06
TRIS Online provides access to almost 450,000 records of published transportation research through a searchable database. Over 470 serial publications are regularly indexed and abstracted for the database. TRIS Online includes material indexed and abstracted by TRB as well as the material entered by the Transportation Libraries at the University of California at Berkeley and Northwestern University.
Very clear and short. Perhaps reverse the order in the list below. But, a nice start.
belongs to Pulp Fiction project
tagged articles basics guides libraries by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
The gray bit over at the side is a little hidden, but provides most of what we want.
tagged articles basics guides libraries by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
A nice layout that includes the most popular indexes plus the subject indexes. Also allows space for ILL and journal lists.
tagged articles basics guides libraries by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
This is great. The popular databases along the side and nothing on the page except the choose a topic. Quite nice.
tagged articles basics guides libraries by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
UIUC has a nice basics guide for articles.
tagged articles basics guides libraries by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
I like some of the features of this site -- I'd like to see some user testing with those videos. Do students watch them? It's a nice idea, and much easier to produce and consume than a text-based description of the same thing. I also like the "circular process" motif. Nice.
A great guide from the Free Library listing their holdings for Philadelphia Directories.
tagged directories guides philadelphia by laallen ...on 07-DEC-05
This is the library's page for the basic Research Resources in Cinema Studies.
tagged articles cinema_studies guides library movies by laallen ...on 01-NOV-05
This is a great reference work with short signed essays on topics in Urban Studies. A good place to start an Urban Studies paper for an overview of topics and theorists.
Great, reasonably short guide to understanding what a lit review is, and what it should do.
tagged guides litreview urbs400 by laallen ...on 06-OCT-05
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching the social aspects of health for all parts of the world.
tagged #basic-85# guides hsoc by laallen ...on 12-SEP-05
Jewish history resources of use to the academic community. The contents consist of both electronic and print titles, with a list of all the titles on the site. More than five hundred resources are included.
tagged #basic-40# guides judaic by laallen ...on 08-SEP-05
This Research Guide to Judaic Studies is meant to help you familiarize yourself with the variety of Judaic information sources available at Penn and to help you improve your research strategies in general.
tagged #basic-40# guides judaic by laallen ...on 08-SEP-05
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on the modern ethnography, history and political situation of Iraq and its people. It describes finding aids, useful reference works, and some web portals for discovering information on Iraq.
tagged #basic-49# guides middle_east by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 07-SEP-05
This selective bibliography lists resources useful for the study of the social, economic and political history of the Middle East.
tagged #basic-49# guides middle_east by laallen ...on 07-SEP-05
This selective bibliography lists resources useful for the study of the Middle East. Most titles in the bibliography are in the Van Pelt Library Reference collection (first floor); available online, or located in the regular stacks.
tagged #basic-49# guides middle_east by laallen ...on 07-SEP-05
The complete guide to finding Government Publications through the Penn Library
tagged #basic-43# guides law by laallen ...and 3 other people ...on 03-SEP-05
This selective bibliography is an introduction to research in Religious Studies. Included are works which emphasize the study of various religious traditions. Basic tools from the Reference collection in Van Pelt and the general collection are listed. It attempts to provide access to key print and electronic reference tools. For links to additional web resources such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source collections on the web, see the Religious Studies: E-Resources page. Research guides for specific religions and topics are located along the side of the page.
tagged #basic-62# guides by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 02-SEP-05
A guide to information resources in physics.
tagged #basic-55# guides physics by laallen ...on 26-AUG-05
A guide to information resources in mathematics.
tagged #basic-48# guides math by laallen ...on 26-AUG-05
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on recent sub-saharan African historical and political events. Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library, (social sciences, including history, political science, and economics, and area studies, including African studies). In addition, the University Museum Library's anthropological holdings and the Biomedical Library's public health collection may also be useful.
tagged #basic-1# africa guides history politics by laallen ...on 24-AUG-05
This guide identifies resources useful for beginning and conducting research on social aspects of health among African societies. It identifies major reference works in print and electronic formats and provides guidance for beginning the research process.