avocets
Avocets
rss 2.0 subscribe to this page
search


related to guides
1 + 1960's
1 + 20th_century
3 + africa
1 + almanacs
2 + anthropology
1 + area_studies
2 + article_search_engines
12 + articles
2 + authors
4 + authorship
8 + basics
4 + bibliographical
3 + bibliography
8 + biomed
1 + book_reviews
3 + books
1 + cartography
1 + census
1 + cinema_studies
4 + citations
1 + clinical
4 + colonial
5 + communication
3 + copyright
1 + countries
1 + criminology
1 + cttp
1 + curriculum
2 + database
1 + databases
1 + diaries
1 + directories
1 + dissertations
1 + e-books
1 + endnote
1 + environment
9 + ethics
1 + evaluate_resources
1 + evaluate_sources
1 + evening_bulletin
2 + evidence-based
1 + foreign
2 + full-text
5 + genref
1 + geographic
4 + grammar
1 + grey_literature
1 + handbooks
2 + health
5 + help
3 + help_menu
1 + history
1 + history_388
1 + howto
2 + hsoc
1 + import_filters
6 + information
3 + iraq
2 + journals
2 + judaic
1 + law
5 + learning
1 + legal
3 + libment
8 + libraries
2 + library
1 + licensing
1 + litreview
1 + ludden
6 + management
1 + math
1 + medical
4 + medicine
3 + middle_east
1 + movies
1 + myna
5 + nav_menu
3 + organization
1 + output_styles
1 + papers
1 + pdf
8 + philadelphia
1 + physics
2 + places
4 + plagiarism
5 + policy
1 + politics
1 + primary_sources
1 + progressive
1 + publications
2 + publishing
2 + reading
2 + reference
6 + references
1 + refworks
1 + religious
1 + religious_studies
10 + research
1 + research_guides
2 + rights
8 + scholarly
1 + searching
1 + sixties
1 + social_services
3 + software
1 + spatial
1 + statistical
3 + statistics
2 + stats
1 + subject
5 + support
7 + teaching
4 + think_tanks
1 + tip_sheets
7 + tools
4 + transportation
2 + trial
1 + tutorials
4 + united_states
1 + urban
2 + urbs
1 + urbs400
1 + videos_in_instruction
9 + writing
1 + zipcodes
view all
•  projects
•  owners
•  tags

Look through the guide and try to really update it in PennPage. So, copy the things that look like they might still be useful, and then update books that have newer editions, and websites that don't work. Just make sure that you make a note of the things that you should check with Nick. Also, are there things about Philadelphia that should be added? Things you know about? Just amke sure someone can tell the difference between what you added and what you copied.

 

tagged guides myna philadelphia by laallen ...on 29-JUL-08
. Guide to official publications of foreign countries / American Library Association, Government Documents Round Table. 2nd ed. series [Bethesda, Md.] : CIS, c1997.
Call#: Van Pelt Library Reference Desk REF J9.5.Z99 G83 1997

 

tagged countries foreign guides publications statistical by myna ...and 1 other person ...on 14-JUL-08
tagged anthropology research guides e-books by whitham ...on 18-JUN-08
tagged guides trial by okrent ...and 2 other people ...on 31-MAR-08
tagged guides trial by okrent ...on 31-MAR-08
Why does "area studies" link to "Using Citations"?
tagged area_studies guides by igarnett ...on 23-MAR-08
tagged guides research_guides by igarnett ...on 23-MAR-08
tagged genref guides by igarnett ...on 21-MAR-08

tagged colonial guides by okrent ...on 26-JAN-08
tagged books guides by laallen ...on 21-JAN-08
This guide is designed as a starting point for locating statistical information.
tagged guides statistics by laallen ...on 17-JAN-08
tagged colonial guides by okrent ...on 13-JAN-08
tagged colonial guides by okrent ...and 1 other person ...on 13-JAN-08
tagged colonial guides by okrent ...and 1 other person ...on 13-JAN-08
belongs to Hlth Help Menu project
tagged biomed guides help_menu by campbell ...and 2 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
belongs to Hlth Guide Menu project
tagged biomed guides nav_menu by campbell ...and 4 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (evidence-based medicine)
-from Wiley InterScience
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: 1) Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups 2) Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

COCH is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration - an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. In pursuing its aims, the Cochrane Collaboration is guided by six principles: collaboration, building on people's existing enthusiasm and interests, minimizing duplication of effort, avoidance of bias, keeping up to date, and ensuring access.

Reflecting the current practice in medicine to base clinical decisions on accumulated evidence from the primary medical literature, Ovid has created a collection of resources called Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews which is designed for use by clinicians, researchers and students. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is one of the databases in Ovid's evidence-based medicine collection, which also includes the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) and Best Evidence (which consists of ACP Journal Club from the American College of Physicians-American Society for Internal Medicine [ACP-ASIM] and Evidence Based Medicine from the BMJ Publishing Group).

In Medline a limit to Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews will restrict your retrieval to those articles or studies that have been included by the Cochrane Collaboration when creating a Topic Review or articles that have been reviewed in the ACP Journal Club or BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine publications or in the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). By their inclusion in these publications, these studies have met strict Evidence-Based Medicine criteria. Use this limit to narrow a large search to only those articles or studies which are considered "Evidence-Based" by experts and for which an article or topic review exists.
Holdings: 1991 to the present. Updated quarterly.

belongs to Hlth Guide Menu project
tagged biomed nav_menu guides by campbell ...and 2 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
MEDLINE (complete file)
The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.
belongs to Hlth Guide Menu project
tagged biomed nav_menu guides by campbell ...and 20 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
PubMed Plus (Penn Only)
-from PubMed Central
PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to. Once the "Log-in" is completed, any full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the PubMed system by clicking on the Penn Text icon. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. The PubMed version of MEDLINE includes the PREMEDLINE database, which provides very current basic citati on information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE. New records are added to PREMEDLINE daily. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. PubMed is also the literature component of the Entrez retrieval system for molecular biology information. For additional information, see the PubMed Overview.
Holdings: 1950 to the present. Updated daily.
belongs to Hlth Guide Menu project
tagged biomed nav_menu guides by campbell ...and 28 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
EMBASE
Holdings: 1980-
tagged biomed nav_menu guides by campbell ...and 5 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
tagged evidence-based guides medicine pdf searching by rodrigue ...on 10-DEC-07
belongs to General Information/Services project
tagged guides by lsb ...on 28-NOV-07
Listing of articles in the JAMA series, Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, with PennText links, and stored in a RefWorks folder. To access the folder, use Log-in Name: clinical_decision Password: cdm2. Sort by Ref ID to list articles descending sequencial order.
tagged articles guides reading medicine by rodrigue ...on 27-NOV-07
Listing of articles in the JAMA series, Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, with PennText links, and stored in a RefWorks folder. To access the folder, use Log-in Name: clinical_decision Password: cdm2. Sort by Ref ID to list articles descending sequencial order.
belongs to Clinical Decision Making project
tagged articles guides reading medicine by rodrigue ...on 27-NOV-07
tagged guides libment by mcdanold ...on 27-NOV-07
This link presents the collection of electoronic resources at the Penn Library related to Philadelphia Studies.
belongs to philadelphia places project
tagged articles journals guides databases philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
This is a useful collection of Research Guides from the Penn Libraries to help find information about Philadelphia.
belongs to Historic Preservation Data project
tagged guides philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
tagged guides by lsb ...and 5 other people ...on 24-OCT-07
The Iraq Foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental organization working for democracy and human rights in Iraq, and for a better international understanding of Iraq's potential as a contributor to political stability and economic progress in the Middle East.
tagged guides iraq by laallen ...on 18-JAN-07
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on the modern ethnography, history and political situation of Iraq and its people. It describes finding aids, useful reference works, and some web portals for discovering information on Iraq.
Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library (social sciences and humanities, including history and political science, and area studies, including Middle Eastern studies). The anthropology, ethnography, and archaeology collections of the University Museum Library will also contain useful materials.
BE PERSISTENT! Many terms for topics you'll be researching will have been transliterated into romanized forms. You'll soon discover that there's no one "approved" transliteration style. When searching, first try using the form you know. Look for clues -- controlled vocabulary (e.g., subject headings or uniform titles) that may appear only in full record displays, "see also" or "more info" references -- to discover the transliterated form used by the work you're consulting. Use truncated word forms: read the work's documentation to discover how to truncate. Try omitting punctuation-like characters: some computer interfaces may elide ayn, maddah, and other Arabic transliteration marks. Ask for help! Your instructors have great experience at wrestling with transliteration, and so do reference librarians.
tagged anthropology iraq guides by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 18-JAN-07
A guide to the Penn Library resources on Iraq -- mostly to the printed resources. Part of the Prrucs project.
tagged guides iraq by laallen ...on 18-JAN-07
The Metropolitan Philadelphia Indicators Project combines two types of information to illuminate conditions and trends in our 9-county region (defined as the central cities of Philadelphia and Camden along with the Pennsylvania counties of Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery, and the New Jersey counties of Burlington, Camden, Gloucester and Salem). The first is a set of social, environmental and economic indicators that portray the quality of life in the regions communities. The second type of information comes from an annual household survey conducted by Temples Institute for Survey Research, asking respondents across the region how they assess the quality of life in their communities. Tracking over time the changes in the indicators and in the survey responses, we can better understand how citizens perceptions relate to the changing conditions on the ground.
A guide to resources about the city of Philadelphia
tagged guides philadelphia by laallen ...on 02-JAN-07
Bulletin almanac.Philadelphia : The Evening bulletin, 1924-1976.
Call#: Van Pelt Library AY286.P5 B9
The Evening Bulletin was the newspaper of record in Philadelphia through much of the twentieth century. Each year, the Bulletin published an almanac covering Philadelphia for that year. A great source for specific dates in the Philadelphia are between 1924-1976. Also includes the names and address of churches, schools, etc.


tagged 20th_century guides philadelphia evening_bulletin almanacs by laallen ...and 5 other people ...on 02-JAN-07
Overview of Zip Code Statistic sources from the US Census.
tagged census zipcodes statistics guides by laallen ...on 02-JAN-07
University of Michigan guide to Think Tank sources.
tagged guides think_tanks policy united_states by dn ...and 1 other person ...on 06-DEC-06
Clark, Suzanne M. . Cartographic citations : a style guide / by Suzanne M. Clark, Mary Lynette Larsgaard and Cynthia M. Teague. [083897581X ] Chicago : Map and Geography Round Table, American Library Association, 1992.
Call#: GA108.7 .C53 1992


A guide to finding resources about the 1960's in the Penn Libraries.
tagged 1960's urbs sixties guides by laallen ...on 19-SEP-06

Collection of clinical textbooks, journals, and reference materials. Excellent source for background information.

Access Medicine - McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine.com is an online reference resource that includes Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, other core medical texts, Lange clinical review library, USMLE review, drug information, patient education, and many more resources.
MD Consult - Web portal containing full-text content of over 50 publishers and other organizations. Access includes full text textbooks, Clinics of North America, full text journals, practice guidelines, drug information, yearbooks and patient education.

 

belongs to Clinical Decision Making project
tagged books guides journals full-text clinical medicine by rodrigue ...on 13-APR-06
The complete set of the full text pre-publication version of the Users' Guides series published in the Journal of the American Association (JAMA).
belongs to Clinical Decision Making project
tagged articles evidence-based guides full-text by rodrigue ...on 07-APR-06
A guide for Faculty in discovering student plagiarism.
tagged guides software plagiarism by laallen ...on 22-MAR-06

From Moving Ideas.org, this site provides access to organizations and Think Tanks along the liberal/progressive side of issues.

 

tagged guides progressive policy think_tanks united_states by laallen ...on 08-MAR-06
University of Michigan guide to Think Tank sources.
tagged guides policy united_states think_tanks by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 08-MAR-06
A guide to the literature on Think Tanks from the Columbia University Library.
tagged guides policy united_states think_tanks by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 08-MAR-06
Links to FAQ, guides, tip sheets, information pages, and downloads for import filters, output styles., and manuscript templates
belongs to EndNote Resources project
tagged EndNote Guides Import_filters Tip_Sheets Output_styles by rodrigue ...on 01-FEB-06
Potentially a good resource to show undergraduates. Instruction and guidelines for evaluating a variety of types of resources.
tagged evaluate_resources guides evaluate_sources by anellokj ...and 1 other person ...on 26-JAN-06
Made with Camptasia.
tagged guides refworks tutorials by laallen ...on 20-JAN-06
The New Mexico Criminal Justice Resource Directory is a comprehensive searchable listing of local, state, tribal and federal criminal and juvenile justice contacts in New Mexico. Listings include agencies, programs and services in law enforcement, courts, corrections, human services, juvenile, research and other topical areas.
tagged criminology guides legal grey_literature by laallen ...on 19-JAN-06
tagged guides transportation philadelphia by laallen ...on 15-JAN-06
Bibliographic citations for materials received at the Transportation Library, Northwestern University, since 1976.

TranStats is aimed at providing "one-stop shopping" for US transportation data from the National Transportation Library. 

tagged cttp guides transportation stats by laallen ...on 10-JAN-06
TRIS Online provides access to almost 450,000 records of published transportation research through a searchable database. Over 470 serial publications are regularly indexed and abstracted for the database. TRIS Online includes material indexed and abstracted by TRB as well as the material entered by the Transportation Libraries at the University of California at Berkeley and Northwestern University.
Very clear and short. Perhaps reverse the order in the list below. But, a nice start.
belongs to Pulp Fiction project
tagged articles libraries guides basics by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
The gray bit over at the side is a little hidden, but provides most of what we want.
tagged articles guides libraries basics by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
A nice layout that includes the most popular indexes plus the subject indexes. Also allows space for ILL and journal lists.
tagged articles guides libraries basics by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
This is great. The popular databases along the side and nothing on the page except the choose a topic. Quite nice.
tagged articles libraries guides basics by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
tagged articles guides basics libraries by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
UIUC has a nice basics guide for articles.
tagged articles basics libraries guides by laallen ...on 21-DEC-05
I like some of the features of this site -- I'd like to see some user testing with those videos. Do students watch them? It's a nice idea, and much easier to produce and consume than a text-based description of the same thing. I also like the "circular process" motif. Nice.
tagged basics videos_in_instruction howto guides by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 08-DEC-05
A great guide from the Free Library listing their holdings for Philadelphia Directories.
tagged directories guides philadelphia by laallen ...on 07-DEC-05
This is the library's page for the basic Research Resources in Cinema Studies.
tagged articles movies cinema_studies library guides by laallen ...on 01-NOV-05
This is a great reference work with short signed essays on topics in Urban Studies. A good place to start an Urban Studies paper for an overview of topics and theorists.
tagged #basic-71# guides handbooks urban by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 14-OCT-05
Great, reasonably short guide to understanding what a lit review is, and what it should do.
tagged guides litreview urbs400 by laallen ...on 06-OCT-05
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching the social aspects of health for all parts of the world.
tagged #basic-85# guides hsoc by laallen ...on 12-SEP-05
tagged #basic-1# africa guides by laallen ...on 09-SEP-05
Jewish history resources of use to the academic community. The contents consist of both electronic and print titles, with a list of all the titles on the site. More than five hundred resources are included.
tagged #basic-40# judaic guides by laallen ...on 08-SEP-05
This Research Guide to Judaic Studies is meant to help you familiarize yourself with the variety of Judaic information sources available at Penn and to help you improve your research strategies in general.
tagged #basic-40# guides judaic by laallen ...on 08-SEP-05
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on the modern ethnography, history and political situation of Iraq and its people. It describes finding aids, useful reference works, and some web portals for discovering information on Iraq.
tagged #basic-49# guides middle_east by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 07-SEP-05
This selective bibliography lists resources useful for the study of the social, economic and political history of the Middle East.
tagged #basic-49# guides middle_east by laallen ...on 07-SEP-05
This selective bibliography lists resources useful for the study of the Middle East. Most titles in the bibliography are in the Van Pelt Library Reference collection (first floor); available online, or located in the regular stacks.
tagged #basic-49# middle_east guides by laallen ...on 07-SEP-05
The complete guide to finding Government Publications through the Penn Library
tagged #basic-43# guides law by laallen ...and 2 other people ...on 03-SEP-05
A list of Research Guides in Religious Studies, including:
tagged #basic-62# religious guides by laallen ...on 03-SEP-05
This selective bibliography is an introduction to research in Religious Studies. Included are works which emphasize the study of various religious traditions. Basic tools from the Reference collection in Van Pelt and the general collection are listed. It attempts to provide access to key print and electronic reference tools. For links to additional web resources such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source collections on the web, see the Religious Studies: E-Resources page. Research guides for specific religions and topics are located along the side of the page.
tagged #basic-62# guides by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 02-SEP-05
tagged #basic-19# guides environment by laallen ...on 26-AUG-05
A guide to information resources in physics.
tagged #basic-55# physics guides by laallen ...on 26-AUG-05
A guide to information resources in mathematics.
tagged #basic-48# guides math by laallen ...on 26-AUG-05
This guide will help you to use the Penn Library when researching topics on recent sub-saharan African historical and political events. Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library, (social sciences, including history, political science, and economics, and area studies, including African studies). In addition, the University Museum Library's anthropological holdings and the Biomedical Library's public health collection may also be useful.
tagged #basic-1# guides africa history politics by laallen ...on 24-AUG-05
This guide identifies resources useful for beginning and conducting research on social aspects of health among African societies. It identifies major reference works in print and electronic formats and provides guidance for beginning the research process.