PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to.
The JISC Academic Database Assessment Tool (ADAT) aims to help libraries to make informed decisions about future subscriptions to bibliographic databases.
The site provides access to detailed information and title lists for major bibliographic and full text databases, and key service information for database and eBook content platforms.
tagged databases diaries by okrent ...and 25 other people ...on 16-DEC-08
Holdings: 1980-
This Pittsburgh Post-Gazette article was written about the release of the "Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education." Ultimately it argues for the same thing that both I and the "Code" argue for, which is the importance of an understanding of how to use intellectual property within educational settings to their fullest extent without worrying that one will become liable for copyright infringement. This article takes a different approach then some of my other resources by giving examples of educators and the media they have used to convey crucial messages about things such as health and gender relations to their students. This article also includes some brief thoughts and opinions from these educators, including Renee Hobbs, professor of communication at Temple University who was personally involved with the development of the "Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education," and one of the three principal investigators to help develop "The Cost of Copyright Confusion for Media Literacy." I believe the information in this article will add a level of agency to my own argument, not only because it will provide one with realistic examples of the ways in wich media can be used in the dissemination of important information via the academic setting, but because these examples come from the point of view of educators who understand, first hand, the importance knowing what media needs to be used to create an effective curriculum, and how many educators have reluctantly steered away from the use of effective media for fear of being sued.
tagged academic_libraries copyright databases digital_formatting fair_useeducation library_services photocopying by whitham ...on 22-NOV-08
In this text, Rice outlines the contractual and technological regulations that have been placed on the access of digital information. His argument is that information is the "common fiber of science, arts, hostory, culture, and even self," and that the press to privatize control over acces to digital information "diminishes the luster of the late-twentieth-and early-twenty-first-century opening of the information society."
Specifically Rice focuses on the implications of the privatization of control over things such cultural knowledge, including folklore, legends, and information on heritage, in cases where this information would not be legally accessible to members of the represented culture. Rice argues that the importance of the information era is the access one has to learn about the things most intimately related to him as a person.
I find this essay useful because, though it targets the wrongfulness of privatized control from a deeply personal level, the underlying question of whether all information should be accessible to everyone is also present, because within the academic arena researchers develop relationships with information that may have no relevance to their cultural backgrounds but remains as personal to them as if it did. This essay also asks its reader to think about the kind of information he would not want to be withheld from him. Though the essay doesn't specifically get at the issue of confusion over copyright and fair use issues within an academic setting, it does provide an awareness of what information may be being withheld from researchers, and forces those researchers to consider the usefulness of this kind of information to there personal projects. This kind of awareness goes hand in hand with the understanding of fair use and copyright that my thesis argues for because it emphasizes the importance of having an active and correct knowledge of fair use and copyright issues that affect university settings, in order to get the most out of ones education.
tagged academic_libraries copyright databases digital_formatting education fair_use library_services photocopying by whitham ...and 2 other people ...on 19-NOV-08
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Holdings: 1964 to present. Updated three times a year.
tagged databases diaries by okrent ...and 25 other people ...on 10-MAY-08
tagged databases diaries by okrent ...and 23 other people ...on 10-MAY-08
tagged databases diaries by okrent ...and 24 other people ...on 10-MAY-08
tagged databases diaries by okrent ...and 19 other people ...on 10-MAY-08
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 52 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: Coverage varies, from 1990.
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 7 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: 1963 to the present. Updated bimonthly.
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 22 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: 1887 to the present. Updated monthly.
Holdings: Covers 1963 to the present. New records are added ten times a year.
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 23 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 13 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 44 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: 1948-present
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 3 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: 1991 to present
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 8 other people ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: The database contains a large body of archival material, in some cases, as far back as 1970.
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 12 other people ...on 25-APR-08
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 1 other person ...on 25-APR-08
Holdings: 1992 to the present, (selected reports back to 1990).
tagged databases fem by igarnett ...and 6 other people ...on 25-APR-08
tagged databases urbs200 by laallen ...and 52 other people ...on 31-JAN-08
Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.
tagged databases urbs200 by laallen ...and 44 other people ...on 31-JAN-08
tagged articles databases guides journals philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 59 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
This OVID interface allows users to search multiple databases simultaneously. Deduping allows one to remove duplicates from the resulting search before viewing, saving, or printing the set.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 6 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
Formerly produced by Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux, this database comprises international coverage of veterinary medicine, agriculture, forestry and related bio-science fields, including: human health; human nutrition; animal health; and resource management and conservation. The database includes over 3 million records with 30% of the coverage relating to crop production, 24% in veterinary and human health, 13% in animal sciences, 13% in crop protection, and 19-20% of the content covering a wide array of other, related topics.
Holdings: 1910 to the present. Updated monthly.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 2 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
tagged databases dentistry medicine medline plus pubmed vet_home by campbell ...and 3 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
Holdings: 1979 to present. Updates monthly.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 3 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
Information on all aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture. Major areas of coverage include; Aquaculture management and economics, Growth and development of cultured species, Techniques, equipment, methodology, feasibility studies, replenishing natureal stocks, and laboratory culture, Culture of fish and other vertebrates, Crustaceans, mollusks, and other invertebrates, Aquatic plants and algae, Protozoa and microorganisms, Reproductive biology, Biotechnology
Holdings: 1984 to the present. Updated Bimonthly.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 1 other person ...on 06-SEP-07
The world's most comprehensive reference database in the life sciences. It covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering are also included. Resources in all languages are represented.
Holdings: 1993 to the present. Updated monthly.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 8 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
This diagnostic support system is used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including: 1) a general description, 2) species affected, 3) the signs/symptoms associated with it, and 4) a list of recent literature references.
Holdings: Current and retrospective
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 1 other person ...on 06-SEP-07
Global Health consists of more than 800,000 records from 1910 on - equivalent to 300 volumes of research covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.
Holdings: 1910-
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 8 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
A growing veterinary portal offering access to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Contains a search program allowing you to search all indexed resources.
Holdings: Varies depending on resource
The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Holdings: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1945-present
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1956-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1975-present
Updated weekly.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 52 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 36 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 5 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
Provides information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. This electronic tool includes encyclopedic links to topic modules and a library of external resources.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 1 other person ...on 06-SEP-07
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 3 other people ...on 06-SEP-07
-from CSA Databases
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Holdings: 1887 to the present. Updated monthly.
tagged databases vet_home by campbell ...and 45 other people ...on 08-JUN-07
Before you start using this website, you need to install the Baskerville for Brill fonts. Directions are on the front page of the Encyclopedia site.
An on-line, searchable version of the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published from 1901-1906. The encyclopedia contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations about the Jewish experience, including biographical entries and valuable subject essays. It is particularly useful for the bibliographical information it provides about different editions and publications of Judaica.
Access to full-text national and international newspapers , including the New York Times, and the Times of London business and accounting information, biographical data, and some selected legal materials. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Among the document sources included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law, state codes and case law, and U.S. patents.
Note that many Congressional publications including bills and laws, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register and campaign finance and voting record data which were previously available in LEXIS/NEXIS are now accessible through a companion database, Congressional Universe.
Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) for over 1.5 million doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities. Full-text is available in pdf format for the most recent Penn dissertations (si nce 1997).
Dissertations from selected European universities are also listed. Selected master's theses are included since 1988.
One can search the database by: author, keyword in title and/or abstract, adviser, university code, date, degree. Boolean operators allow for combinations of fields.
Holdings: 1861-present. About 47,000 new dissertations added each year.
"Kiryat-Sefer" is the national bibliography of the State of Israel and the Jewish people. The bibliography was established in 1925 in order to document materials published in Israel in a variety of disciplines and languages, and deposited in the Jewish National and University Library. In 1953 the Legal Deposit Law encompassed only printed material, and in 2001 was extended to non-printed material as well.
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world in general, including Muslims in Africa and Asia and major Muslim minorities worldwide. Topics covered include: education, law, bibliography and scholarship, libraries, philosophy, natural and applied sciences, arts, architecture, geography and travel, social sciences, archaeology, history, economics, politics and current affairs, as well as religion and theology
Holdings: 1906-present.
RAMBI, the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies, is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject. The material is compiled from thousands of periodical and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL). Journals and new publications indexed cover the following subjuect areas: Booklore and Bibliography, Bible, post-Biblical literature and Early Christianity, Rabbinic Literature and and the Jewish Law, Philosophy and Religion, Litergy and the Jewish Annual Cycle, Literature, Language, Jewish History in the Diaspora, the Land of Israel, and the Cultural Life of the Jewish People. Includes author and subject indices.
-from Compact Memory
From Compact Memory collection- "a retrospective digitalization of Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries."
-from Project Muse
Holdings: 2004-
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Holdings: 1964 to present. Updated three times a year.
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Holdings: 1964 to present. Updated three times a year.
General, multidisciplinary fulltext periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.
tagged bibliographic bioethics databases by rodrigue ...and 44 other people ...on 25-MAY-06
-from CSA Databases
Bibliographic citations with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. The PAIS Archive extends current PAIS coverage back to 1915. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Holdings: 1915-
tagged bibliographic bioethics databases by rodrigue ...and 21 other people ...on 25-MAY-06
tagged bibliographic bioethics databases by rodrigue ...and 36 other people ...on 24-MAY-06
tagged archives bibliographies bioethics databases digital portal by rodrigue ...and 1 other person ...on 24-MAY-06
tagged bibliographic bioethics databases by rodrigue ...and 1 other person ...on 24-MAY-06



