Look through the guide and try to really update it in PennPage. So, copy the things that look like they might still be useful, and then update books that have newer editions, and websites that don't work. Just make sure that you make a note of the things that you should check with Nick. Also, are there things about Philadelphia that should be added? Things you know about? Just amke sure someone can tell the difference between what you added and what you copied.
Call#: Van Pelt Library Reference Desk REF J9.5.Z99 G83 1997
tagged guides religious_studies by igarnett ...and 1 other person ...on 21-MAR-08
tagged genref guides reference by igarnett ...on 21-MAR-08
tagged dissertations genref guides by igarnett ...on 21-MAR-08
tagged diaries genref guides by igarnett ...and 1 other person ...on 21-MAR-08
tagged book_reviews genref guides by igarnett ...on 21-MAR-08
tagged biomed guides help_menu by campbell ...and 2 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
tagged biomed guides help_menu by campbell ...and 10 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
tagged biomed guides nav_menu by campbell ...and 5 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
-from Wiley InterScience
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: 1) Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups 2) Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
COCH is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration - an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. In pursuing its aims, the Cochrane Collaboration is guided by six principles: collaboration, building on people's existing enthusiasm and interests, minimizing duplication of effort, avoidance of bias, keeping up to date, and ensuring access.
Reflecting the current practice in medicine to base clinical decisions on accumulated evidence from the primary medical literature, Ovid has created a collection of resources called Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews which is designed for use by clinicians, researchers and students. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is one of the databases in Ovid's evidence-based medicine collection, which also includes the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) and Best Evidence (which consists of ACP Journal Club from the American College of Physicians-American Society for Internal Medicine [ACP-ASIM] and Evidence Based Medicine from the BMJ Publishing Group).
In Medline a limit to Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews will restrict your retrieval to those articles or studies that have been included by the Cochrane Collaboration when creating a Topic Review or articles that have been reviewed in the ACP Journal Club or BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine publications or in the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). By their inclusion in these publications, these studies have met strict Evidence-Based Medicine criteria. Use this limit to narrow a large search to only those articles or studies which are considered "Evidence-Based" by experts and for which an article or topic review exists.
Holdings: 1991 to the present. Updated quarterly.
tagged biomed guides nav_menu by campbell ...and 3 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.
tagged biomed guides nav_menu by campbell ...and 36 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
-from PubMed Central
PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to. Once the "Log-in" is completed, any full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the PubMed system by clicking on the Penn Text icon. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. The PubMed version of MEDLINE includes the PREMEDLINE database, which provides very current basic citati on information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE. New records are added to PREMEDLINE daily. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. PubMed is also the literature component of the Entrez retrieval system for molecular biology information. For additional information, see the PubMed Overview.
Holdings: 1950 to the present. Updated daily.
tagged biomed guides nav_menu by campbell ...and 61 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
Holdings: 1980-
tagged biomed guides help_menu by campbell ...and 12 other people ...on 07-JAN-08
tagged guides by lsb ...and 1 other person ...on 28-NOV-07
tagged articles databases guides journals philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
tagged guides philadelphia places by laallen ...on 01-NOV-07
Materials containing relevant information are collected chiefly by Van Pelt Library (social sciences and humanities, including history and political science, and area studies, including Middle Eastern studies). The anthropology, ethnography, and archaeology collections of the University Museum Library will also contain useful materials.
BE PERSISTENT! Many terms for topics you'll be researching will have been transliterated into romanized forms. You'll soon discover that there's no one "approved" transliteration style. When searching, first try using the form you know. Look for clues -- controlled vocabulary (e.g., subject headings or uniform titles) that may appear only in full record displays, "see also" or "more info" references -- to discover the transliterated form used by the work you're consulting. Use truncated word forms: read the work's documentation to discover how to truncate. Try omitting punctuation-like characters: some computer interfaces may elide ayn, maddah, and other Arabic transliteration marks. Ask for help! Your instructors have great experience at wrestling with transliteration, and so do reference librarians.
tagged guides philadelphia policy social_services stats by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 02-JAN-07
Call#: Van Pelt Library AY286.P5 B9
tagged census guides statistics zipcodes by laallen ...on 02-JAN-07
Call#: GA108.7 .C53 1992
tagged bibliographical bibliography books cartography citations database ethics geographic grammar guides information library management organization papers plagiarism references research scholarly software spatial statistics tools writing by nmperez ...on 27-OCT-06
Collection of clinical textbooks, journals, and reference materials. Excellent source for background information.
Access Medicine - McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine.com is an online reference resource that includes Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, other core medical texts, Lange clinical review library, USMLE review, drug information, patient education, and many more resources.
MD Consult - Web portal containing full-text content of over 50 publishers and other organizations. Access includes full text textbooks, Clinics of North America, full text journals, practice guidelines, drug information, yearbooks and patient education.
tagged articles evidence-based full-text guides by rodrigue ...on 07-APR-06
From Moving Ideas.org, this site provides access to organizations and Think Tanks along the liberal/progressive side of issues.
tagged EndNote Guides Import_filters Output_styles Tip_Sheets by rodrigue ...on 01-FEB-06
tagged article_search_engines guides reference transportation by laallen ...and 2 other people ...on 10-JAN-06
TranStats is aimed at providing "one-stop shopping" for US transportation data from the National Transportation Library.
tagged cttp guides stats transportation by laallen ...on 10-JAN-06
tagged article_search_engines guides transportation by laallen ...and 1 other person ...on 10-JAN-06



